School of Environment


Honorary staff

The School of Environment comprises a team of more than 40 academics, 20 highly qualified technical and administrative staff and a lively postgraduate and undergraduate community.

Name Position Research interest Email
Alloway, Brent
Honorary Academic  

Special expertise in Quaternary stratigraphy, paleoenvironmental reconstruction, climate change, landscape evolution, soil-geomorphic relationships, volcanic & coastal hazard mapping/assessment, the characterisation and mapping of soils and cover-bed deposits, and geochronology

brent.alloway@gmail.com
Aslam, Mohamed   Honorary Academic
Ministry of Environment in the Maldives aslamtey@hotmail.com
Barker, Simon Honorary Academic Volcanology, geochemistry, petrology simon.barker@auckland.ac.nz
Barraclough, Rosemary Honorary Academic     rk.barraclough@auckland.ac.nz
Browne, Pat
Honorary Academic   prl.browne@auckland.ac.nz
Drake, Bryan   Honorary Research Associate Special interest in active and extinct hydrothermal systems drake.geoscience@gmail.com
Grant-Mackie, Jack Honorary Research Associate Macropaleontology j.grant-mackie@auckland.ac.nz
Hayward, Bruce Honorary Academic   Geologist/foraminiferal micropaleontologist / marine ecologist / Holocene sea-level reconstruction   b.hayward@geomarine.org.nz
Hochstein, Manfred Honorary Research Associate Geophysics of Geothermal Systems mp.hochstein@auckland.ac.nz
Horton, Peter Honorary Professor     p.horton@sheffield.ac.uk
Horrocks, Mark Honorary Research Associate Quaternary palynology, Ethnobotany, Forensic palynology m.horrocks@auckland.ac.nz
Lee, Jane   Honorary Academic   Migration and Mobilities jane.leechoi@gmail.com
Lorrey, Andrew   Honorary Academic Background in climate science, palaeoclimatology, dendroclimatology, glacial geology and geomorphology a.lorrey@niwa.co.nz
McGregor, Glenn   Honorary Academic   Synoptic Climatology,Biometeorology, Hydroclimatology, Climate and society interactions glenn.mcgregor@durham.ac.uk
Mitchell, Neil Honorary Academic   Restoration ecology and species-climate interactions n.mitchell@auckland.ac.nz
Montanaro, Cristian Honorary Academic   c.montanaro@auckland.ac.nz
Paolini, Leo
Honorary Academic     leopaolini@gmail.com
Simmons, Stuart Honorary Academic      
Smith, Ian
Honorary Associate Professor Igneous Petrology, Volcanology ie.smith@auckland.ac.nz
Smith, Willie
Honorary Academic     w.smith@auckland.ac.nz
Sporli, Bernhard Honorary Research Associate Structural Geology, Tectonics kb.sporli@auckland.ac.nz
Toy, Virginia Honorary Academic     virginia.toy@otago.ac.nz
Vogeler, Iris Honorary Academic Extensive experience in deterministic modelling of nutrient/pollutant fate in soil/plant/water atmosphere, waste water disposal, deficit irrigation, Green House Gas modelling, Farm Systems Modelling, Precision agriculture, statistical analysis, Multi-Agent Simulation Modelling, team leadership Iris.Vogeler@plantandfood.co.nz
Williams, Helen Honorary Academic     helen@geokincern.com