School of Environment


Honorary staff

The School of Environment comprises a team of more than 40 academics, 20 highly qualified technical and administrative staff and a lively postgraduate and undergraduate community.

Name Position Research interest Email
Alloway, Brent
Honorary Academic  

Special expertise in Quaternary stratigraphy, paleoenvironmental reconstruction, climate change, landscape evolution, soil-geomorphic relationships, volcanic & coastal hazard mapping/assessment, the characterisation and mapping of soils and cover-bed deposits, and geochronology

brent.alloway@gmail.com
Aslam, Mohamed   Honorary Academic
Ministry of Environment in the Maldives aslamtey@hotmail.com
Barraclough, Rosemary Honorary Academic     rk.barraclough@auckland.ac.nz
Carpenter, Natasha   Honorary Academic   Strong background in integrated coastal zone management, development of coastal engineering design options and coastal geomorphology natasha.carpenter@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz
Cronin, Iris   Honorary Academic   Extensive experience in deterministic modelling of nutrient/pollutant fate in soil/plant/water atmosphere, waste water disposal, deficit irrigation, Green House Gas modelling, Farm Systems Modelling, Precision agriculture, statistical analysis, Multi-Agent Simulation Modelling, team leadership. Iris.Vogeler@plantandfood.co.nz
Drake, Bryan   Honorary Research Associate Special interest in active and extinct hydrothermal systems drake.geoscience@gmail.com
Grant-Mackie, Jack Honorary Research Associate Macropaleontology j.grant-mackie@auckland.ac.nz
Hayward, Bruce Honorary Academic   Geologist/foraminiferal micropaleontologist / marine ecologist / Holocene sea-level reconstruction   b.hayward@geomarine.org.nz
Hochstein, Manfred Honorary Research Associate Geophysics of Geothermal Systems mp.hochstein@auckland.ac.nz
Horrocks, Mark Honorary Research Associate Quaternary palynology, Ethnobotany, Forensic palynology m.horrocks@auckland.ac.nz
Klinac, Paul Honorary Academic   Coastal Geomorphology paul.klinac@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz
Lee, Jane   Honorary Academic   Migration and Mobilities jane.leechoi@gmail.com
Lorrey, Andrew   Honorary Academic Background in climate science, palaeoclimatology, dendroclimatology, glacial geology and geomorphology a.lorrey@niwa.co.nz
Mauk, Jeffrey   Honorary Associate Professor Economic geology, mineralogy, geochemistry j.mauk@usgs.gov
McGregor, Glenn   Honorary Academic   Synoptic Climatology,Biometeorology, Hydroclimatology, Climate and society interactions glenn.mcgregor@durham.ac.uk
Mitchell, Neil Honorary Academic   Restoration ecology and species-climate interactions n.mitchell@auckland.ac.nz
Simmons, Stuart Honorary Academic      
Smith, Ian
Honorary Associate Professor Igneous Petrology, Volcanology ie.smith@auckland.ac.nz
Reinkin, Judith Honorary Research Associate Health and Equity; Use of documentary film in education and for education; Community development jrei042@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Sporli, Bernhard Honorary Research Associate Structural Geology, Tectonics kb.sporli@auckland.ac.nz